Ask an Optician

I am not a doctor

The place for all those "Questions for this fascinating user" threads so they're all in one place!
Pirate Oriana
laugh with the wind
laugh with the wind

Ask an Optician

Post by Pirate Oriana »

Hey! It's your friendly neighborhood optician. Open for questions.

Feel free treat this as a general questions thread if you like. Or if you are a glasses/contact wearer and there's something you don't understand about how your eyeballs work (or don't work as the case may be) I'll answer those as best I can as well.

Keep in mind that I'm not a doctor :shame: so I can't diagnose you. I've just noticed that many of the people that I talk to have had glasses for years and never had a lot of things explained to them.
So I thought this could potentially be useful if that applied to any of you guys as well. \:D/
AMDG

I started a comic. \:D/ "And there's no one to stand around looking impressed"....seriously "what is the point of having you all." :x ;-)
NOW AT: https://www.facebook.com/randompiratecomic
Bob
Catspaw Rocks!

Post by Bob »

What would make contacts unsuitable for someone who wears glasses (just in terms of things that pertain to vision correction)?

Is there any correlation between good night vision and astigmatism?
Pirate Oriana
laugh with the wind
laugh with the wind

Post by Pirate Oriana »

Bob wrote: Sat Feb 12, 2022 9:37 pm What would make contacts unsuitable for someone who wears glasses (just in terms of things that pertain to vision correction)?

Is there any correlation between good night vision and astigmatism?
One of the main issues that I know of that would make you unsuitable is dry eye. There are probably also some conditions which the cornea that would maybe make you not a good candidate. And high levels of astigmatism could make it harder (and more expensive) to find an option that works for you.