Chess!

The world's best game!

If there's something on your mind that just doesn't seem to fall into any of the other categories, well, it quite likely belongs inside Joe Finneman's marketplace. Think of it as a general store for general discussions!
Dr. Watson
Be positive!

Chess!

Post by Dr. Watson »

Anyone else here like to play chess? I love to play, except some people in my family (*ahem* *cough cough*) don't like to play with me.

I have a Chessmaster computer program, but it is slightly less satifying than facing off against a flesh and blood opponent.

At lunch hour at work, I sometimes play chess with a couple of other guys. We are fairly equal in skill; it is usually just a matter of who makes the first mistake that decides the game.

I say, there are quite talented chess players out there! The grandmasters, like Garry Kasparov, can play simultaneous matches (i.e. 50+) blindfolded! :shock:

So, does anyone else like to battle it out over the chessboard?

Cheerio
J-man
I like Cookies
I like Cookies

Post by J-man »

I like chess. I can't find anyone that is evenly matched with me though. My dad is really good, and my siblings aren't as good as I am.
...I hate marquees.
Dr. Watson
Be positive!

Post by Dr. Watson »

Oohh, I might set up a contest in Odyssey 105, so people can play a PM chess game. Are you interested?
J-man
I like Cookies
I like Cookies

Post by J-man »

How would that work?
...I hate marquees.
Trent DeWhite
Former Mayor

Post by Trent DeWhite »

Did someone mention chess? :inlove:

While I certainly enjoy this game of strategy, it seems there are few with whom to play. Probably because my sister isn't interested in playing... and my brother is too young. :anxious:

I certainly don't profess to be particularly great at this game, but I do enjoy the challenge... once or twice every couple years. :D

If anyone provides allows for real-time chess playing. \:D/
J-man wrote:How would that work?
You'd have to know chess notation.